Nikki Sixx 5

 

1 When guests talk to people who've been there, like you, do you think they open up more than they would to other radio hosts?

I remember very early on [I was supposed] to start the interview with 'Hey, this is Nikki Sixx.' I'm not doing that. When I talk to Ozzy [Osbourne], I don't say, 'Hey, Ozzy, it's Nikki Sixx!' I say, 'Hey, Ozzy, what's up, man?' And he's like, 'Oh, I'm picking my nose' or whatever. That's how we do our interviews. It's two musicians talking. [Or] a musician and a painter, a musician and a photographer, a musician and a new artist. That's what happens.... But the conversation that happens on air is just people talking.

2 The show's a lot more than just rock. Was there any concern about people putting you into the Mötley Crüe/metal box?

If they wanted me to do just a metal show, it was just not gonna happen. I want to play lots of music. Some new music, some classic music. Some stuff that's really on the tip of everyone's tongue. But I also want to have some fun with it.... I love feeding information out there, whether it's what's going on in the automotive industry to funny stuff to the stuff about the current state of the world that most rock stations wouldn't want to report on. We certainly slither through the day with an agenda of being different from everybody else.

3 You've got some pretty interesting dream guests -- you've mentioned Paul McCartney, Bob Dylan. Who'd be the ultimate dream guest?

I'd be interested in talking to the family of [Beat Generation author] William Burroughs. What was it like having William Burroughs in your life? What was it like with Hunter S. Thompson, working with him on a project?

4 So what's it like being in Nikki Sixx's life?

My life is like everybody else's life. I've had all the ups and downs like everybody else has. Sometimes it's been magnified and sometimes it's amplified. It's obviously different when you're in your early 20s and you have the kind of success we had in Mötley Crüe -- and still continue to have in Mötley Crüe -- and at the same time going through heroin addiction and writing a book that helped a lot of people and spawning a new band out of that.... When I'm talking to somebody who's had similar experiences, it opens them up.

5 You have some pretty interesting rock-star neighbors, don't you? [Sixx told USA Today that his neighbors include Ozzy Osbourne, Van Halen drummer Alex Van Halen and rock guitarist Slash.]

I have a lot of crazy neighbors. [Mötley Crüe drummer] Tommy [Lee] was looking for a house in my neighborhood, and Tommy's the loudest guy I've ever met in my life. He has more energy and more volume -- man, I love Tommy to death, but I sure hope he's not my neighbor.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Luffi

hey! allt bra idag? kram luffi

2010-03-05 @ 14:56:07
URL: http://www.luffi.se
Postat av: Lowa

SV: tackar :)

2010-03-06 @ 12:55:18
URL: http://musiklowa.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0